The Are Hovstad Award Winner 2022

Are Hovstad Winner - Terence Klassen

Pictured from left: MOT Programmes and Training Manager, Andiswa Makha; wife of Are Hovstad, Wenche Hovstad; Principal of Fairmount High School, Terence Klassen; Social Entrepreneur, Nadia Gabier

The Are Hovstad award was presented for the first time at the MOT AGM and Awards Ceremony in 2019. Jarl Are Hovstad was a founding Board member of MOT SA and was knighted by HRH King Harald of Norway for his work in education and health on the Cape Flats.

He was also awarded Western Cape Provincial Honours in the form of The Order of the Disa, including many more inspiring works.

In tribute to his legacy, the MOT SA Board decided to award a MOT Associate who whole-heartedly displayed similar characteristics to our beloved Are Hovstad.

Wenche Hovstad, the wife of Are Hovstad, shared stories about the wonderful man our beloved Are Hovstad was. “The award was established to honour him and to keep the ethos and spirit of MOT and the values he had alive”.

We’re proud to announce our Are Hovstad Winner for 2022, Mr Terence Klassen!

Mr Terence Klassen is the Principal of Fairmount High School.

Our 2021 Are Hovstad Winner, Darren Maybe nominated Mr Klassen and believed that was the perfect fit for this prestigious award, as he is the epitome of the MOT Values (Courage to Live, Courage to Care and Courage to Say No) and is a genuinely loving and caring person.

In Darren’s nomination form, he wrote that Mr Klassen: “is an inspiration to me and so many young people at Fairmount as well as the surrounding community members and parents. He believes in a second chance.

Those young people that other teachers and parents gave up on, he always goes the extra mile to motivate them and encourage them to become better and bigger than their circumstances, to not give up and push through their adversities.”

“Despite his own personal challenges, he still lives by his values and still decides to choose to offer a hand to the youth. He truly believes in the youth as the leaders of today and the generation that will take this nation to the next dimension.

He is a true inspiration and a big role model to all, and I am proud to nominate him.”

We are proud of this year’s winner. Well done, Mr Klassen and keep up the amazing and inspiring work you’re doing for the youth and community!

Nominees for this award were Marlyn – Lee Van Diemen and Lynnsay Jones.


Marlyn – Lee Van Diemen is a MOT Alumni, Young MOTivator and MOT Coach. He volunteers and participates in the formal MOT SA camps and events where he is a valuable contributor.

Marlyn is employed at a large call centre, and he uses MOT Games to encourage and inspire his colleagues and through this engages them in talking about the MOT values.

Lynssay Jones has partnered with MOT SA in her capacity as Trust Administrator of the Lombardi Family Charitable Trust and the Abe Bailey Trust. Lynnsay is responsible for the administration of several Charitable Trusts.

Lynnsay Jones is a versatile, strategic and results-driven professional with a broad skill set. She is an Attorney by profession with 8 years of working experience in the Legal and Financial Services sector. Lynnsay is a proud graduate of the University of the Western Cape with diverse interests in law and serving humanity.

Wall of Winners for this award are:

2019: Christine Thomas, Student Support Officer from False Bay TVET College, Fish Hoek Campus

2021: Darren Maybe, Young MOTivator from False Bay TVET College, Westlake Campus

The day ended off with Timothy McBride, from the Institute for Post School Studies (IPSS) at the University of Western Cape, who presented on the research of MOT, supported by MOT’s long-standing supporter DG Murray Trust (DGMT). The presentation shared “How well do students participating in the MOT programme perform on examinations in comparison with non-MOT students”.

Thank you to those who have attended our MOT Enthustiasts’ Gathering! It was incredibly magical!