MOT SA honours Young Leader for being Courageous

Boy in uniform

In the spirit of honouring those who show courage in their daily lives and Youth Month, MOT honoured a young man who they deemed worthy of a special award.

During MOT SA’s 12th AGM, the organisation honoured Darren Maybe, a Young MOTivator (MOT Youth Leader) who is the current vice-chairperson of the SRC at False Bay TVET College, Westlake Campus with the Are Hovstad Award.

The Are Hovstad Award is named after a Norwegian community activist, Jarl Are Hovstad, who became a permanent South African resident. He was honoured by HRH King Harald of Norway for his work in education and health on the Cape Flats.

He was also awarded Western Cape provincial honours in the form of The Order of the Disa, bestowed various Rotary International awards and was instrumental in the establishment of a life-skills programme for students and learners in TVET colleges and schools. He was also one of the initiators of bringing MOT to South Africa.

What is MOT?

“MOT” meaning Courage, started in Norway 24 years year ago and was started within South Africa 13 years ago and since its inception and prides itself on partnerships with high schools, TVET colleges and community organisations. It is a comprehensive, global life-skills concept that develops robust youth, who include all. The MOT programme aims to strengthen youth’s self-awareness, resilience and courage making use of fun and interactive activities, role play and group discussions.

Darren Maybe was nominated by False Bay TVET College Student Support Officer, Sashen Naidoo, who shared through his nomination form for Darren that Darren lives the core values of MOT which are The Courage to Live, Courage to Care and Courage to Say No. He further shared that Darren believes in giving back, is a strong believer in building others and motivating others, and believes that he is nothing without others. 

During his time at False Bay College, Darren has been very involved in leadership activities and has been the Chairperson of the SRC in 2018, the Vice President, Secretary-General (FBC) & Marketing Official in 2019, and currently is the Vice President, Secretary-General & Marketing Official on Campus Level

This has been the second award given, the first winner being Christine Thomas of Fish Hoek Campus.

There were a total of 9 nominees and the Top 4 went through a nomination interview with the MOT SA Board, which the winner was selected by them.

We are extremely proud to have Darren as this years Are Hovstad Winner, as he truly deserves this honour.

Follow and like us on our social media platforms below for even more interesting content on the following links. Instagram | Facebook | TikTok | Twitter | LinkedIn

#Courage2Conquer #ShowCourage